St. John's Episcopal School

Board of Trustees

The St. John’s Board of Trustees governs the School under the supervision of the Vestry of St. John’s Episcopal Church and in accordance with the Constitution and Canons of The Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States of America.  The Board is accountable for the financial stability and the future of the School, engaging in all forms of strategic planning and oversight, policy making, overseeing budgets, and participating actively in fundraising. The Board employs the Head of School to serve as the primary educational leader of the School and to administer the day to day operations of the School.

The Board consists of at least 11 elected Trustees as well as the Rector, the Head, and two members of the Vestry.  All elected Trustees are volunteers.  New Trustees are elected by the Board, subject to the approval of the Vestry.  The term of an elected Trustee is three years and each elected Trustee generally serves for two consecutive terms.

Trustees are actively involved in life at the School and are leaders in the work to advance the School’s interests.  Trustees are expected to attend monthly Board meetings, to attend meetings of committees to which they are appointed, to work diligently on tasks falling within the responsibility of their assigned committee(s), and to make a concerted effort to raise the profile of the School and to raise funds for the School.   Trustees are expected to participate when possible in some of the School’s special events such as the Auction and Episcopal Schools Sunday.

We look to parents, alumni, St. John’s Church members, persons employed in the field of education, and business persons in the local community to serve on the Board.  The school benefits from Trustees who can share their skills and experience in marketing, technology, law, finance, business, government and public relations, teaching, school administration, homecare and ministry. We believe that bringing together Trustees of diverse backgrounds, talents, and perspectives on the Board enriches our school community.

The Board accepts nominations in late winter for candidates who seek to begin service as a Trustee in the following school year.


St. John’s Board of Trustees 2016-2017

Ed Biggin
Current Parent
Chair, Trustee Committee

Patrick Campbell
Current Parent
Chair, Development Committee

Brian Cobb
Current Parent

Nancy Eichacker
Alumni Parent

Kenneth (Ken) Graham
Current Parent
Chair, Technology Committee

The Rev. Preston B. Hannibal

The Rev. Henry P. McQueen
Rector, St. John’s Episcopal Church

Mike Muscatello
Current Parent
Chair, Finance Committee

Andrew (Andy) Nicholas
Current Parent
Vestry Representative

Douglas (Doug) Perkins
Alumni Parent
Church Warden
Chair, Board of Trustees

Mark Smith
Alumni Parent

Thomas (Tom) R. Stevens
Ex-Officio Member
Head of School

Bryan Suit
Alumni Parent

Richard (Rich) Vallaster III
Chair, Strategic Planning Committee

James (Jim) Whalen
Current Parent

Sarita Winter
Alumni Parent

Tim Wittig
Vestry Representative